Daily Archives: May 22, 2009

Yesterday’s Yummy Tarts and Today’s Goodness…

Hello Everyone!! 

Today has been a really good day for me well week. Since it’s Thursday and almost the weekend. I have no big plans but I am hoping to make the best of it. So this week I have done many things. So lets start with Monday; I had Ortha app., I took a yoga class that morning which was really nice. I am going to have to go to another one. ( new blog post idea.. yoga) it can be so relaxing but a good workout too. There are videos you can get too, but i think you would get bored with that. Anyways After all that I went over to Jeremy’s House, which i have left him out on my blog, so I am going to post a little something, so Jeremy is 22 and a cop for anderson, and he is really tall about 6’4 i guess. Sweet, funny, kind, and he likes to read.. Neat if you ask me. we have a lot in common. And I can be myself  around him. We are talking so I guess i update… so Tuesday I had Class….. not much to tell there…. Wednesday I made the wonderful Tarts!!!! (below) And today i had class, but it was good altogether.  🙂 

Oh I am trying to make my blog more creative by adding somethings and make it fun for everyone, its a slow process but tell me what yall think.. 🙂

DSCN2342

This is today’s goodness for dinner. My sister made stuffed peppers, which is in rice ground turkey, cheese, and pepper toms. And the  bread  is the type from Red Lobster. If you would like the recipe email me and  I can get it to you, or I might post it if I get enough request for it. 

I was on a friends Blog the other day and I found this wonderful recipe, and it was tarts. I have never made tarts or any type of pastry before so I thought why not try. So I did, and they turned out wonderful!! here is the recipe for the tarts: (for the icing since i can’t have any type of dairy I used Soy milk. 

Bakewell Tarts

Pastry:

2 cups all purpose flour
6 ounces Unsalted butter, soft
1 Egg yolk
2 teaspoons caster sugar
Cold water as required – only a couple of teaspoons probably

Filling:

4 ounces Unsalted butter
4 ounces Caster sugar
2 Eggs
2 ounces ground almonds (you can do this in a coffee grinder – clean of course! or food processor)
2 ounces Self Raising flour
1 teaspoon Almond extract
Strawberry jam

Icing:

2 cups Confectioners Sugar
1-2 tablespoons water or whatever you need to make a glaze
Glacé cherries (half for each tart)

Rub the butter into the flour until it resembles fine breadcrumbs. Add the egg yolk and sugar and mix with a knife (it’s more effective than a spoon). Add enough water to bring the dough together – you’re aiming for firm but not hard. I always use my hands to do this as it gives you better control. If you’ve added too much water and the dough is sticky, don’t panic – just add a little more flour. Wrap the pastry in plastic wrap or waxed paper and refrigerate for at least 15 minutes no more than 30.

Preheat oven to 400°F grease 12-14 individual pie tins or use a couple of muffin tins (12 muffin size) – Roll out the pastry using as little flour as possible.  Using a cutter slightly bigger than the diameter of your  tin, cut out circles. You will have to re-roll the pastry to get enough but it’s very good natured and will re-roll several times.  Line the greased tins with the pastry circles, crimping the edge as you would for a pie and spoon some jam (about a teaspoon) onto each pastry.  Now make the almond filling. Beat the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy.  Beat in the eggs one at a time, and after each egg, add half of the ground almonds. The mix will curdle but don’ panic – as soon as you add the flour it will correct itself.  Add the flour and almond extract and stir well. You can just mix it – there’s no need to fold or be careful.
Spoon this mix into each pastry and bake for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and leave to cool completely before removing from the tin. This is because the pastry is fragile when fresh from the oven and firms as it cools.  Mix together the Confectioners sugar and water until smooth and glossy.    <

Thats it for tonight. Good Night everyone!!!!   DSCN2302

Court ❤    

(ps What you think of my new hair color??)

4 Comments

Filed under random, anything, updates, Yummy Food :)